vehicles does not permit inter-connection with the over-all telephone system, but only with specific despatchers) is now available in most major cities in Canada as well as in a number of areas of lesser population. This latter service is provided by telephone companies as well as other common-carrier organizations.

Subsection 8.--Radio and Television Broadcasting*

Broadcasting in Canada, as it has developed over a period of some forty years, is a combination of public and private enterprise. Under the Broadcasting Act, proclaimed Nov. 11, 1958, a Board of Broadcast Governors was created consisting of three full-time members and twelve part-time members. The Broadcasting Act provides that this Board is empowered "for the purpose of ensuring the continued existence and efficient operation of a national broadcasting system and the provision of a varied and comprehensive broadcasting service of a high standard that is basically Canadian in content and character, to regulate the establishment and operation of networks of broadcasting stations, the activities of public and private broadcasting stations in Canada and the relationship between them, and provide for the final determination of all matters and questions in relation thereto"

The Broadcasting Act also provides that the Minister of Transport must receive a recommendation from the Board of Broadcast Governors before dealing with any application for a licence to establish a broadcasting station or an application for an increase in power, change of channel or change of location of a broadcasting station, or before making any regulations or changes in the regulations under the Radio Act governing the activities of broadcasting stations.

As provided for in the Broadcasting Act, the Board of Broadcast Governors issued during 1959 the Radio Stations Broadcasting Regulations and the Radio (TV) Broadcasting Regulations. The enforcement of these Regulations is the responsibility of the Board.

Part II of the Broadcasting Act provides authority for the publicly owned Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. The Corporation, consisting of a President and a Vice-President and nine other directors appointed by the Governor in Council, is established "for the purpose of operating a national broadcasting service". The CBC is accountable to Parliament through a Cabinet Minister designated by the Governor in Council and is empowered to establish and maintain program networks and stations.

As of May 1, 1960, there were 29 CBC radio stations and 14 CBC television stations; 227 privately owned radio stations and 45 privately owned television stations. All the privately owned television stations and many of the privately owned radio stations are affiliated with the CBC and help to distribute national radio and television services over five networks operated by the CBC.

Radio Broadcasting Facilities.—The CBC operates three radio networks—the Trans-Canada and Dominion networks serving English-language audiences from the Atlantic to the Pacific, and the French-language network extending from Moncton, N.B., to Edmonton, Alta. As at Apr. 1, 1960, the Trans-Canada network was made up of 26 basic stations—13 CBC-owned and 13 privately owned. There were 28 supplementary stations, four of which were CBC-owned Newfoundland stations and seven of which 'were stations of the CBC Northern and Armed Forces Services. The Dominion network consisted of 31 basic stations of which 30 were privately owned. Nineteen supplementary privately owned stations also received Dominion network service. The French network had five basic stations, four of which were CBC-owned and one privately owned, and 20 privately owned supplementary stations.

^{*} Prepared by the Information Services, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, Ottawa.